2/22/2011

February 23, 2011

I rode Fred. 🙂

I went out to the barn and got all my stuff together. I walked outside into the foot of snow and looked into the pasture. Low and behold, Fred was standing in the back of the pasture, staring at me. I walked inside the paddock and called his name, hoping he would decide he wanted to see me and come running. Nope. He just looked up at me and stared. That damn horse made me walk all the way to the back of the pasture through the treacherous snow drifts to get him. I debated trying to ride him to the gate, but (a) he’d kill me and (b) I can’t get on him bareback without a leg up. So, I had to walk all the way back. He made it difficult because he was walking much faster than I could handle in the snow.

So, I got Fred groomed and tacked up. I put him in the arena to see if he needed to let any energy out, but he just stared at me. So, I went in and set up my camera and then got on. He kept his attention on the back door, as if it was out to eat him, but unlike the usual reactions to the door, he actually was trying really hard to listen to me. It made me feel good because I can tell he is starting to feel more secure with me. He kept an ear out for that door but was attentive to me and behaved. I used my possibly new saddle, which was very comfortable. I could actually sit deep in the saddle! YAY! It was great! It made a big difference with my riding, even my canter seat is back to being somewhat decent. I think it will make a big difference in the long-run. It’s what I needed. My calves were a bit unsteady and too far forward; but I am beginning to figure out how to use my leg and I am no longer duck-feeting… at least I wasn’t today! My thighs were burning while I was riding. So, tomorrow I am going out to ride while my trainer gives lessons and hopefully I can get some insight while I am there. Maybe have her tape a minute of it or something. For me, it was a lot easier to have a proper position in a cutback on an energetic horse–rather than in a close-contact saddle on my lazy horse. I don’t know if that’s normal. I don’t know why I can’t keep my leg forward! Oh well, I have a few months…or however long it takes for Fred & I to be show-worthy… to improve my position and my confidence. Both are slowly getting there.

(I do wonder how long it’s going to take for us to be allowed to get back in the show ring!)

Hopefully not all show season. I’ve already missed out on too many show seasons. D:

New video?

May we revisit memories? 😮

Halloween ’08.

Leave a Reply

